Please Click on the Links Below to view the Criteria for each award:


Teacher of the Year Award

Elementary Physical Education

Middle School Physical Education

High School Physical Education

Adapted Physical Education 




 University Educator of the Year 

Susan J. Kolp Innovator of the Year Award 

Meritorious Service Award (1st award then they can receive honor award)

Honor Award for Distinguished Service in Health Education, Physical Education, Recreation, Dance, and/or allied fields;

  PETE – Physical Education Teacher Education Professional of the Year

  College/University Future Professionals of the Year (2 per university)

  Maxine DeBryn Collaborator Honor Award


Award Application Form



Major of the Year

Majors of the Year are selected by the college or university

Selection criteria remain under the determination of each institution of higher education,  but should include the following minimum criteria:

    • Junior standing
    • Minimum 3.0 GPA
    • Active membership in professional fraternity (e.g., Phi Epsilon Kappa)
    • Service to school or community for a minimum of two years during the undergraduate career

 Majors of the year must have one letter of recommendation from program instructor.

 Each institution may select no more than two students (Preferred: from different majors within the institution).

 Selection Deadline: Selection nominations must be submitted to SHAPE Michigan by September 7, 2022. 

MOY Application



Past Recipients